Playwrights’ Arena is located in the ancestral lands of the Tongva, the Tataviam and the Chumash. We acknowledge them as the first peoples of this land on which we live and work.


Playwrights’ Arena, under the leadership of artistic director Jon Lawrence Rivera, is dedicated to discovering, nurturing and producing bold new works for the stage written exclusively by Los Angeles playwrights.

Playwrights’ Arena develops new materials through several series of readings, workshops and round table discussions.

Local playwrights are encouraged to create original, adventurous, daring materials with the intent of challenging the mind, touching the heart and provoking the spirit.

Playwrights Arena was founded in 1992 by Jon Lawrence Rivera and Steve Tyler.


Playwrights’ Arena will be an incubator for a re-imagined, more inclusive theatrical canon by generating and presenting new works for the stage, and by serving as a catalyst for the next generation of theatre supporters and creators through our artistic education programs.


Playwrights’ Arena is first and foremost dedicated to diversity and inclusivity: among its writers and artists, its management, its board, its audiences, and also among the points of view of the works it develops and produces. All voices are heard, valued and respected.

Playwrights’ Arena encourages experimentation with work that pushes boundaries in theme and content, and that provides a thought-provoking experience for the audience and performers alike.

Playwrights’ Arena is dedicated to using its resources and talents to educate and inspire students through a strong mentoring/educational component where ideas flow both ways.

Consider Supporting Playwrights' Arena

Artistic Contributors
    Board of Directors
  • Deborah Secakuku Baker
  • Brett Battles
  • Scott Freeman
  • Jon Lawrence Rivera
  • Raynald Samoa
  • Raul Clayton Staggs
    Advisory Committee
  • Ted Benito
  • Andrew Brettler
  • Jill Brousard
  • Kiyomi Emi
  • Corey Madden
  • Alan Mandell
  • Jerry Oshinsky
  • Bill Pullman
  • Doug Savant
  • Elisabeth Shue
  • Barbara Trembley
    Associate Artists
  • Boni B. Alvarez
  • Lily Bartenstein
  • Henry 'Heno' Fernandez
  • Inda Craig-Galván
  • Howard Ho
  • Donald Jolly
  • Annette Lee
  • Jesse Mandapat
  • Mylette Nora
  • Michael Premsrirat
  • Nick Salamone
    Artistic Director
  • Jon Lawrence Rivera
    Literary Manager
  • Abe Zapata, Jr.
Contact Info
514 S. Spring Street Los Angeles, CA 90013
Send Us A Message

Send Us A Message

Playwright's Arena
Join our mailing list


Gather address info


PLAYWRIGHTS’ ARENA accepts unsolicited full-length plays from Los Angeles-based playwrights only and that comply with the company’s mission statement.

We do not accept one-acts (less than 70 minutes long), one-person shows or “kitchen sink” dramas. Please submit the entire script with a cover letter and playwright’s bio using the form below.

As with all theaters, response time will depend on the number of current submissions for review (up to six months).

Script Submission

Maximum file size: 2.1MB

PDF, DOC, DOCX 3mb max
Ask the Playwright

Ask the Playwright

Got a question for the playwright?
Ask it here and we'll send you their response.

Enter Email